New Orleans Battery Defense Attorneys
Aggressive Representation that Gets Results
Have you been accused of battery in New Orleans? You need an aggressive and effective lawyer familiar with Louisiana law at your side. At The Burrell Firm, LLC, our New Orleans battery defense attorneys work directly with clients to put together the defense that works best for you. We also have a law office in Ruston and are available to defend clients throughout the state.
Want a dedicated attorney with a track record of success on your side? Call us today at (504) 420-7575.
What is Battery?
Battery is the intentional use of force or violence on another person. The definition also applies to the intentional administration of a poison or other noxious liquid or substance to another. Keep reading to learn about the different categories of battery and the punishments for each.
In Louisiana, aggravated battery is a battery committed with a dangerous weapon, such as a gun, knife, sword, or crossbow.
Committing aggravated battery can result in a fine of up to $5000, imprisonment with or without hard labor for 10 years or less, or both. At least one year of the sentence imposed shall be served without benefit of parole, probation, or suspension of the sentence if the offender knew or should have known that their victim was an active member of the U.S. Armed Forces or is a disabled veteran.
Second Degree Battery
Second-degree battery occurs when the offender intentionally inflicts serious bodily injury on another. Serious bodily injury is defined as harm which leads to unconsciousness, extreme physical pain, disfigurement, the loss or impairment of the function of a bodily member, or a substantial risk of death.
An offender who is accused of the crime of second-degree battery will be fined up to $2000, imprisoned with or without hard labor for eight years or less, or both.
Aggravated Second Degree Battery
Aggravated second-degree battery describes battery committed with a dangerous weapon when the offender intentionally inflicts serious bodily injury.
A person who commits the crime of aggravated second-degree battery shall be fined up to $10,000 or imprisoned, with or without hard labor, for not more than fifteen years, or both.
Simple battery is battery committed without a deadly weapon or resulting in serious bodily injury. While it is the least serious battery offense under Louisiana law, simple battery is still a punishable crime.
Punishments for someone who commits a simple battery include:
- A fine of not more than $1000, or
- Imprisonment for not more than six months, or
- Both of the above
Contact an Experienced Louisiana Battery Defense Lawyer
If you need help in New Orleans, Monroe, Lincoln Parish, Union Parish, or Jefferson Parish concerning a battery charge, we are your guys. Our New Orleans battery defense lawyers have years of experience fighting battery and other criminal charges throughout Louisiana.
$993,000 18-Wheeler Crash
$415,000 No Insurance = No Problem
$400,000 Company Truck Crash
$390,000 Prior Injuries = No Problem
$350,000 Low Impact 18 Wheeler Crash
$269,000 He finally called Burrell
$135,000 Only 10k offered to her previous lawyer
$115,000 No treatment for the first six weeks
$110,000 Five Months Later
$90,000 No treatment for the first seven weeks