Murder Defense Attorneys in New Orleans
Aggressive Representation When You Need It Most
Have you been accused of murder in New Orleans? Or do you believe you are under suspicion of such a serious crime? You need an aggressive and professional murder defense lawyer familiar with Louisiana law and procedures at your side.
At The Burrell Firm, LLC, our New Orleans murder defense attorneys have worked directly with clients for nearly a decade to help those who have been accused of serious crimes get their charges reduced, dropped, or dismissed. We understand that the legal system can be unfair and intimidating, and we want to help you navigate it—no matter what your crime or circumstances may be. Our firm also has an office in Ruston, so we are available to defend clients throughout the entire state of Louisiana.
Classification of Murder Crimes
In Louisiana, the three major categories of homicide are:
- First-degree murder
- Second-degree murder
We will look at these in more detail below, including examples of and penalties for each crime.
First-degree murder is a murder that features an aggravating circumstance, such as extreme violence, or occurs in conjunction with another serious crime.
For instance, first-degree murder might feature:
- A victim who was a police officer or firefighter lawfully performing their job
- A victim who was under 12 or over 65 years of age
- A violation of a restraining order prohibiting contact between the offender and the victim
- An instance in which the victim was a witness to a crime and the murder was committed to prevent the witness from testifying or for the purpose to seek retribution or revenge
- Instances in which the offender also commits a kidnapping, escape, arson, rape, burglary, robbery, terrorism, or cruelty to juveniles
- More than one person being killed
- The distribution or purchase of illegal drugs
- The murderer receiving something of value for the killing
If you are charged with first-degree murder, you are eligible for the death penalty in Louisiana. Otherwise, you may be imprisoned for life without the possibility of probation, parole, or the suspension of your sentence.
Second-degree murder applies to all of the in-between cases of homicide in Louisiana. It applies to the killing of a human being that doesn’t meet the aggravating factors necessary for a first-degree murder charge but also doesn’t feature the sudden passion that qualifies it for manslaughter.
The penalty for second-degree murder is life without the possibility of probation, parole, or suspension. You cannot be sentenced to death for this crime.
Manslaughter is a homicide that would ordinarily be considered second-degree murder, except that it was committed in sudden passion or heat of blood immediately caused by provocation sufficient to deprive an average person of their self-control or reflection. These are often referred to as “crimes of passion” accordingly.
The punishments for manslaughter are the least severe but are still serious. You can go to prison with hard labor for up to 40 years for manslaughter.
Even with a charge as serious as murder, you are still innocent until proven guilty. It is imperative that you take advantage of your right to a fair trial and hire an experienced murder defense attorney to fight for you. We will collect evidence and build a case that puts you in the best light and we will do whatever it takes to get your charges reduced as much as possible. For example, if you are accused of second-degree murder, we may be able to argue that the offense was manslaughter instead, granting you a lighter sentence.
If you need help in New Orleans, Monroe, Lincoln Parish, Union Parish, or Jefferson Parish in reference to a murder charge, we are your guys.
Contact The Burrell Firm LLC today at (504) 420-7575 or online.
$993,000 18-Wheeler Crash
$415,000 No Insurance = No Problem
$400,000 Company Truck Crash
$390,000 Prior Injuries = No Problem
$350,000 Low Impact 18 Wheeler Crash
$269,000 He finally called Burrell
$135,000 Only 10k offered to her previous lawyer
$115,000 No treatment for the first six weeks
$110,000 Five Months Later
$90,000 No treatment for the first seven weeks